Anzu the Great Listener Story Time with Benson Shum

Story Time with Benson Shum for Anzu the Great Listener on Saturday, January 28th at 11 am at Once Upon A Time Bookstore. Best for ages 4+.

Listen with your heart!

Your favorite flower-powered monster is back in Anzu the Great Listener. For this special story time author-illustrator Benson Shum will read his book and have an interactive drawing activity for kids. Best for ages 4+. 

Masks are required for attendance. 

Order Signed Books

About Anzu the Great Listener:

Anzu the Great Listener book cover. Anzu a bright yellow kaiju kneels with his hand reaching out to small creatures on the ground with a bonsai tree in the background. Above him is a blue sky and a white box with the title.

Anzu the kaiju loves to tend to his bonsai.
Whenever he feels overwhelmed or unsettled, it helps him pause and reminds him to just . . . breathe.
One day, when Anzu hears crying in the distance, he's eager to help! The flower-power that makes his bonsai bloom has a way of making others smile.
But when Anzu's flowers seem to lose their power, hurting more than they help, he's not sure where to turn--until he remembers some valuable lessons he learned from his bonsai tree.
In Anzu the Great Listener, creator and Walt Disney Studios animator Benson Shum illustrates the importance of patience, empathy, and above all, taking the time to listen.

About the author-illustrator:

Benson Shum author photo provided by author. An Asian man with a light beard and short black hair smiling directly at the camera.

Benson Shum has illustrated a number of picture books, including Adam Lehrhaupt's Sloth Went, Jennifer Sattler's Go to Sheep, and his own Anzu the Great Kaiju. Benson is also an animator at the Walt Disney Animation Studios, where he has contributed to such films as FrozenBig Hero 6ZootopiaMoanaRalph Breaks the InternetFrozen IIRaya and the Last Dragon, and Encanto. Originally from Vancouver, British Columbia, Benson now lives in sunny Southern California.

Photo credit: Provided by author

 

Saturday, January 28, 2023 - 11:00am
Event address: 
Once Upon A Time Bookstore
2207 Honolulu Ave.
Montrose, CA 91020
Books: 
$18.99
SKU: 9781250776136a
Add name. Ex: Jane or Humphrey Family

Take a moment to breath and connect with Anzu the Great Listener, the newest picture book featuring our favorite kaiju. Fans of The Rabbit Listened and Not Quite Narwhal will find this the perfect mix of emotions. 


$18.99
SKU: 9781250776129a
Add name. Ex: Jane or Humphrey Family

$18.00
SKU: T000917
Availability: Recently On Our Shelves

$9.99
SKU: 9780593222942a
Add name. Ex: Jane or Humphrey Family

$4.99
SKU: 9780593222935a
Add name. Ex: Jane or Humphrey Family

$8.99
SKU: 9781665902946a
Add name. Ex: Jane or Humphrey Family

$7.99
SKU: 9781534403956a
Add name. Ex: Jane or Humphrey Family

$7.99
SKU: 9781534403970a
Add name. Ex: Jane or Humphrey Family

$7.99
SKU: 9781547606603a
Add name. Ex: Jane or Humphrey Family

Want to stay updated about our latest events?

Find all the exciting events at America's Oldest Children's Bookstore!

Email Newsletter Sign Up