Ash House by Angharad Walker in conversation with India Hill Brown

Event date: 
Saturday, February 27, 2021 - 11:00am
Event address: 

Get ready for some horror!

Ash House book cover

Sharing all the way from the UK, author Angharad Walker will be visiting virtually to discuss her creepy and quirky middle grade paranormal novel The Ash House in conversation with India Hill Brown, author of The Forgotten Girl.

Order a book below and register for the virtual event below. 

Once Upon a Time expects all participants to maintain an atmosphere of respect and fairness. Any comments, questions or participants that violate this standard of behavior including any form of harassment, may, at the discretion of the organizers, be immediately removed.

Order Ash House

Register for the Zoom Book Event

This is Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children meets Lord of the Flies for fans of Neil Gaiman and Holly Black.

About The Ash House: An unsettling, gripping middle grade debut about searching for a sense of belonging in the wrong places, and the bravery it takes to defy those who seek to control us.  

When Eleven-year-old Sol arrives at the Ash House, desperate for a cure for his complex pain syndrome, he finds a community of strange children long abandoned by their mysterious Headmaster.

The children at the Ash House want the new boy to love their home as much as they do. They give him a name like theirs. They show him the dorms and tell him about the wonderful oasis that the Headmaster has created for them. But the new boy already has a name. Doesn't he? At least he did before he walked through those gates...

This was supposed to be a healing refuge for children like him. Something between a school and a summer camp. With kids like him. With pain like his. But no one is allowed to get sick at the Ash House. NO ONE.

And then The Doctor arrives...

Strange things are about to happen at the mysterious Ash House. And the longer Sol spends on the mysterious grounds, the more he begins to forget who he is, the more the other children begin to distrust him, and the worse his pain becomes. But can he hold onto reality long enough to find an escape? And better yet, can he convince the others?

Angharad Walker author photo credit to Callum Skinner

About the author: Angharad Walker grew up on various military bases in the UK, Germany and Cyprus, where stories were often being told about far-flung places, past conflicts and friends and family. She studied English Literature & Creative Writing at the University of Warwick, which included a year at the sunny University of California Irvine. Her fiction has been published in Structo and A Million Ways, and her poetry has made it into Agenda broadsheets and Ink Sweat & Tears. She currently lives in London, and when she's not writing, she works as a communications consultant for charities and not-for-profits.

India Hill Brown author photo credit Robert Brown IV

About the moderator: India Hill Brown is a southern belle who recently moved back down south to North Carolina after living in NYC and working at HBO. Her day job is in social media, and her passion is writing. Her freelance work has been published in Teen VogueEssence, Sesi Mag, and The Everygirl. Visit her at booksandbighair.com or on Twitter at @booksandbighair.

Saturday, February 27 at 11:00 AM Pacific Time 

Register in advance for the event:
https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_QBdXwyZVSJmcHlIbvZuhww 

Staff Pick Badge
The Ash House Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338636314
Availability: Recently On Our Shelves
Published: Chicken House - February 2nd, 2021

The Forgotten Girl Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781338317244
Availability: Recently On Our Shelves
Published: Scholastic Press - November 5th, 2019

Event Category: 

Want to stay updated about our latest events?

Find all the exciting events at America's Oldest Children's Bookstore!

Email Newsletter Sign Up


 

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

Welcome to Doodleville, everyone!!! This beloved author, Chad Sell, brings us to his next fabulous graphic novel, Doodleville, which grabs the reader, heart and soul!! Doodleville brings us into a normal school, to a normal group of kids, in a normal art club.....except that these kids' doodles come alive!!! Drew loves her doodles dearly, but when one of her doodles goes rogue and hurts the other student's characters, she is wisked away on an adventure that teaches her so much: the complexities of friendship, the strength that lies in trusting yourself, and the power of working together with friends that can save the day!! Chad Sell's trademark combo of fun, vibrant artwork and deeply emotional and human storytelling makes you smile throughout, and reminds you that "being different can make you powerful." Sell's work is also a perfect example of representation as it should be: people of all types existing together, just like in real life. And while having a blast visiting Doodleville, you may even learn a bit of art history! No matter what, you'll surely be smiling till the very last page.
 
 
(Graphic Novel, Ages 8+) - reviewed by Isabel