Book Signing with Denis Markell and Melissa Iwai

Event date: 
Friday, February 15, 2019 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
Once Upon A Time Bookstore
2207 Honolulu Ave.
Montrose, CA 91020

Talk with creative duo!

Thirty Minutes Over Oregon book cover The Game Masters of Garden Place book cover

Join us in a special book signing and discussion with husband and wife team Denis Markell and Melissa IwaiMelissa and Denis will host a presentation about being a household of children’s book creators, along with a reading/signing for their latest books.

If you can't make it to the event but would like a copy signed and personalized, please feel free to contact us before the event or order online below. 

Order Now

About Thirty Minutes Over OregonIn this important and moving true story of reconciliation after war, beautifully illustrated in watercolor, a Japanese pilot bombs the continental U.S. during World War II and comes back 20 years later to apologize. 

About The Game Masters of Garden PlaceWhen five sixth-graders accidentally summon warriors from their favorite role-playing game to Brooklyn, they are taken on a wild adventure that tests their wits and their friendships in the new novel from the acclaimed author of Click Here to Start.

Melissa Iwai author photo

About Melissa Iwai: Melissa Iwai has illustrated many books for young children, as well as the nonfiction picture book Thirty Minutes Over Oregon. She lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her family. Visit her online at melissaiwai.com, on Twitter @meliwai, and on Instagram @melissaiwai1.

Denis Markell author photo

About Denis Markell: Denis Markell's first novel for kids was Click Here To Start. His second book is based on his tween son's Dungeons & Dragons game (well, except the part where the characters come to life). . . . He lives in a small apartment in Brooklyn with his wife, illustrator Melissa Iwai, and his son. You can find him on Twitter at @DenisMarkell, and yes, he'd be happy to do a Skype author visit for your kid's class.

Thirty Minutes Over Oregon: A Japanese Pilot's World War II Story Cover Image
By Marc Tyler Nobleman, Melissa Iwai (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780544430761
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Clarion Books - October 9th, 2018

The Game Masters of Garden Place Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781101931912
Availability: Not in Stock - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Delacorte Books for Young Readers - July 17th, 2018

Click Here to Start (A Novel) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781101931905
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Yearling - August 2017

Event Category: 

Want to stay updated about our latest events?

Find all the exciting events at America's Oldest Children's Bookstore!

Email Newsletter Sign Up

Event Flyer (PDF)


 

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

In this season of strong, brave women, Maureen's absolute favorite memoir - Rough Magic by Lara Prior-Palmer - is not to be missed. It's about Lara's naiveté in trying to win the grueling, soul-wrenching World's Loneliest Horse Race in Mongolia, with nary a thought of preparation. This is for fans of Cherly Strayand's Wild and MacDonald's H is for Hawk and is writing at it's finest! - Review by Maureen