Celebrate AAPI Heritage Month

Celebrate AAPI Heritage Month on Saturday, May 20th at 11 am at Once Upon A Time Bookstore, 2207 Honolulu Ave., Montrose, CA 91020 for An Asian American A to Z and Cindy and Panda.

Community coming together!

This event will feature two brand new books An Asian American A to Z by Cathy Linh Che and Kyle Lucia Wu and Cindy and Panda by Benson Shum. PLUS an opportunity to meet and mingle with some other amazing members of the community.

Masks are recommended for our events. 

Order Signed Books

About An Asian American A to Z:

An Asian American A to Z book cover. Three young Asian children are huddled together playing with a toy as magical stars float around their heads. The child on the left has long brown hair in braids with light tan skin. The middle child has long black hair and light tan skin with her eyes closed. The child on the right has short dark brown hair with medium dark brown skin.

A comprehensive and spirited exploration of Asian American history--its movements, cultures, and key figures--beautifully illustrated and compellingly told for readers of all ages.
Co-authors Cathy Linh Che and Kyle Lucia Wu take us on a journey through stories of celebration and resistance: the Third World Liberation Front, the Muslim Ban, Japanese American incarceration camps, Padma Lakshmi, Rashida Tlaib, Sunisa Lee, and more. It is a history of struggle, but also one of great triumph, brought to life with colorful and dynamic illustrations by Kavita Ramchandran. 

Written by the directors of Kundiman--an organization dedicated to nurturing Asian American writers-- An Asian American A to Z is a book for children of all backgrounds and a vital resource for tomorrow's organizers. Asian American identity formation is expansive yet under-taught, and this book is a necessary intervention that will ground readers in joy, history, and solidarity.

Cathy Linh Che is the daughter of Vietnam War refugees. She is the author of Split, winner of the Kundiman Poetry Prize, the Norma Farber First Book Award from the Poetry Society of America, and the Best Poetry Book Award from the Association of Asian American Studies. Her work has been published in New RepublicNationMcSweeney's, and Poetry. She serves as Executive Director at Kundiman and lives on the traditional lands of the Lenape people.

Kyle Lucia Wu was born and raised in a small town in New Jersey. She is the author of Win Me Something, an NPR Best Book of the Year. A former Asian American Writers' Workshop Margins Fellow, her work has been published in Literary HubJoyland MagazineCatapult, and BOMB Magazine. She is the Managing Director of Kundiman and teaches creative writing at Fordham University and The New School.

About Cindy and Panda:

Cindy and Panda book cover. A young Asian girl with short black hair kneels across from a sitting blue-grey panda as they hold a pie in between them.

For fans of Lost and Found by Oliver Jeffers comes a perfectly baked story about the messy delight of baking and making new friends from Disney animator Benson Shum.

Cindy loves to bake, but she doesn't always follow a recipe! One day, she runs out to grab ingredients for a pie and comes back with something sweeter--a panda who wants to help! Their freestyle recipe may lead to chaos in the kitchen and a bit of a messy meltdown, but together, the pair have the perfect ingredients for a sweet-as-pie friendship.

This book includes a pie recipe in the back with its very own freestyle section for young bakers excited to explore!

About Benson Shum:

Benson Shum author photo provided by author. An Asian man with a light beard and short black hair smiling directly at the camera.

Benson Shum has illustrated a number of picture books, including Adam Lehrhaupt's Sloth Went, Jennifer Sattler's Go to Sheep, and his own Anzu the Great Kaiju. Benson is also an animator at the Walt Disney Animation Studios, where he has contributed to such films as FrozenBig Hero 6ZootopiaMoanaRalph Breaks the InternetFrozen IIRaya and the Last Dragon, and Encanto. Originally from Vancouver, British Columbia, Benson now lives in sunny Southern California.

Photo credit: Provided by author

 

Saturday, May 20, 2023 - 11:00am
Event address: 
Once Upon A Time Bookstore
2207 Honolulu Ave.
Montrose, CA 91020
Books: 
$19.99
SKU: 9780063248182a
Add name. Ex: Jane or Humphrey Family

Want to stay updated about our latest events?

Find all the exciting events at America's Oldest Children's Bookstore!

Email Newsletter Sign Up