Book Launch for The Curious League of Detectives and Thieves by Tom Phillips

The Curious League of Detectives and Thieves book launch with Tom Phillips on Tuesday, June 7th at 7 pm at Once Upon A Time Bookstore 2207 Honolulu Ave., Montrose, CA 91020
Tuesday, June 7, 2022 - 7:00pm

Calling all young mystery lovers!

The Curious League of Detectives and Thieves: Egypt's Fire book cover

Grand adventure awaits in the start of a new mystery series The Curious League of Detectives and Thieves: Egypt's Fire by Tom Phillips! Tom's debut book will take readers on a wild ride full of humor and mystery and is a great choice for fans of Spy School and Enola Holmes

Masks are required for attendance. 

Order Signed Books

About The Curious League of Detectives and ThievesFollow the world's greatest detective you've never heard of in this madcap middle grade mystery for fans of A Series of Unfortunate Events and Enola Holmes.

After twelve-year-old John Boarhog's mom dies, the last thing he wants is to be schlepped off to the Jersey Home for Boys, where kids are forced to make skinny jeans for hipsters and are fed nothing but kale. Instead, he makes himself a snug home in the ceiling of the New York Museum of Natural History, where he reads anything he get his hands on and explores the artifacts afterhours. 

But when a rare Egyptian ruby--the highlight of the museum's new exhibit--goes missing, John is accused of the crime. That is until the unpredictable Inspector Toadius McGee sweeps in to wrestle control of the case, certain that the true culprit is a notorious criminal he's been tracking for years. 

John quickly becomes the Watson to Toadius's Holmes as they race from Broadway to back alleys to a speak-easy that only serves root beer. And along the way, John uncovers secrets about his own past, including that he's a lot more involved in this web of endearing ne'er-do-wells than he ever could have imagined. 

A love letter to classic middle grade, Egypt's Fire introduces a remarkable new duo that will steal your heart as surely as it leaves you begging for their next grand adventure.

Tome Phillips author photo credit Bella Saville

About the author: Despite a lifelong struggle with dyslexia, Tom Phillips grew up with a passion for storytelling. He writes books that kids can enjoy on their own, but also read aloud and share. He's had a long career as an editor and artist for clients such as LeVar Burton Kids, HBO, Disney, and ABC, and is currently writing a screenplay for a major studio. An armchair Sherlockian, Tom lives in Los Angeles with his lovely wife and his dog, Dr. Watson.

 

Event address: 
Once Upon A Time Bookstore
2207 Honolulu Ave.
Montrose, CA 91020
Books: 
$17.99
SKU: 9781645951056a
Add name. Ex: Jane or Humphrey Family

Want to stay updated about our latest events?

Find all the exciting events at America's Oldest Children's Bookstore!

Email Newsletter Sign Up