Want to stay updated about our latest events?

Sign up for our email newsletter here!


 

LA Sizzles - 3 YA Authors in 1 great city

Event date: 
Sunday, June 11, 2017 - 3:00pm
Event address: 
Once Upon A Time Bookstore
2207 Honolulu Ave.
Montrose, CA 91020

This summer is going to get sizziling with an event featuring Maurene Goo, Sherri L. Smith, and Cindy Pon!

I Believe in a Thing Called Love is a quirky young adult novel about a Korean American girl who uses Korean-Drama techniques to snag the boyfriend of her dreams.

Pasadena - When Jude's best friend is found dead in a California swimming pool, her family calls it an accident, her friends call it suicide, but Jude calls it murder, and the suspects are family and friends.

Want is an edge-of-your-seat sci-fi thriller, set in a near-future Taipei plagued by pollution, about a group of teens who risk everything to save their city. 

Cover of I Believe in a Thing Called Love by Maurene GooCover of Pasadena by Sherri L. SmithCover of Want by Cindy Pon


Maurene Goo Author Photo

Maurene Goo grew up in a Los Angeles suburb surrounded by floral wallpaper and piles of books. She studied communication at UC San Diego and then later received a Masters in publishing, writing, and literature at Emerson College. Before publishing her first book, Since You Asked, she worked in both textbook and art book publishing. She also has very strong feelings about tacos and houseplants and lives in Los Angeles.

Sherri L. Smith Author Photo

Sherri L. Smith is the award-winning author of YA novels Lucy the GiantSparrowHot Sour Salty SweetFlygirl and Orleans. Her bestselling novel, The Toymaker’s Apprentice is the Southern California Booksellers Association Award winner for Middle Grade. Her books have been listed as Amelia Bloomer, American Library Association Best Books for Young People, and Junior Library Guild Selections. Flygirl was the 2009 California Book Awards Gold Medalist. Sherri was a 2014 National Book Awards judge in the Young People’s Literature category. She is a three-time writer-in-resident at Hedgebrook retreat in Washington State, as well as a resident at Wassard Elea retreat, in Ascea, Italy.

Cindy Pon Author Photo

Cindy Pon wrote Silver Phoenix and Fury of the Phoenix, two young adult fantasies! Her first published short story, “Blue Skies”, is also available in the Diverse Energies anthology (Tu Books). A children’s picture book with her Chinese brush art is also in the works! When she is not writing or painting, she likes to read, daydream, travel, eat and watch films in the theatre. 

I Believe in a Thing Called Love Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780374304041
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (Byr) - May 30th, 2017

Since You Asked... Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780545448215
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - June 25th, 2013

Pasadena Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781101996256
Availability: Not in Stock - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - September 13th, 2016

Flygirl Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780142417256
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Speak - September 16th, 2010

Orleans Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780147509963
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Speak - March 6th, 2014

The Toymaker's Apprentice Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780399545177
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puffin Books - October 4th, 2016

Want Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781481489225
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon Pulse - June 13th, 2017

Serpentine Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781942664338
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Month9books - September 8th, 2015

Sacrifice Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9781944816926
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Month9books - September 27th, 2016

Silver Phoenix: Beyond the Kingdom of Xia Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780061730214
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - April 28th, 2009

Fury of the Phoenix Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780061730252
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - March 29th, 2011

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

Get ready to be swept up in this hauntingly beautiful story of an orphan boy who dreams of places no on remembers and a powerful girl fighting to do what is right. Laini Taylor creates a fantasy world that is sure to stay in your dreams. Great for readers who enjoyed Six of Crows, An Ember in the Ashes, or Taylor's other books. - Jessica