Parachute Kids Book Launch with Betty C. Tang

Parachute Kids Book Launch with Betty C. Tang on Saturday, April 1st at 2 pm. Best for ages 9+. At Once Upon A Time Bookstore, 2207 Honolulu Ave., Montrose, CA 91020.

Family and adventure in America!

Join Betty C. Tang as she launches her graphic novel Parachute Kids - inspired by her own life! For the launch event, Betty will share a short presentation followed by a Q&A from the audience and end with a book singing. Filled with humor and heart, this event is best for ages 9+. 

Masks are required for attendance. 

Order Signed Books

About Parachute Kids:

Parachute Kids book cover. A young Chinese girl wearing a backpack runs forward with an excited face. On her left is an Asian teenage girl looking worriedly at her younger sister, holding luggage, and pointing to the left. On her right is an Asian teenage boy with headphones on rolling his eyes while carrying luggage. Fadded people in the background suggest they are at an airport. The title is bold above the family.

From New York Times bestselling comic artist Betty C. Tang comes a funny, fast-paced, and heartrending story about three kids living on their own as undocumented new immigrants, inspired by the author's own childhood as a parachute kid. Perfect for fans of New Kid and Front Desk.

A DREAM TRIP TO AMERICA TURNS INTO A NIGHTMARE!

Feng-Li can't wait to discover America with her family! But after an action-packed vacation, her parents deliver shocking news: They are returning to Taiwan and leaving Feng-Li and her older siblings in California on their own.

Suddenly, the three kids must fend for themselves in a strange new world--and get along. Starting a new school, learning a new language, and trying to make new friends while managing a household is hard enough, but Bro and Sis's constant bickering makes everything worse. Thankfully, there are some hilarious moments to balance the stress and loneliness. But as tensions escalate--and all three kids get tangled in a web of bad choices--can Feng-Li keep her family together?

About the author:

Betty C. Tang author photo. An Asian woman smiling at the camera with long wavy black hair and bangs. She's wearing a blue shirt.

Betty C. Tang is the New York Times bestselling illustrator of the Jacky Ha-Ha series of graphic novels by James Patterson and Chris Grabenstein. She has worked for various Hollywood animation studios including Disney TV and Dreamworks Animation, and codirected an animated feature called Where's the Dragon? Betty is also a fourth degree black belt in aikido, a Japanese martial art. Born in Taiwan, Betty immigrated to California as a Parachute Kid when she was ten. She lives in Los Angeles. Learn more about her work at bettyctang.com.

Photo credit: Betty Tang

 

Saturday, April 1, 2023 - 2:00pm
Event address: 
Once Upon A Time Bookstore
2207 Honolulu Ave.
Montrose, CA 91020

Want to stay updated about our latest events?

Find all the exciting events at America's Oldest Children's Bookstore!

Email Newsletter Sign Up