School Visits with Mac Barnett and Shawn Harris

Mac Barnett and Shawn Harris School Visits on 5/11 and 5/12 for The First Cat in Space Ate Pizza
Wednesday, May 11, 2022 - 8:00am to Thursday, May 12, 2022 - 3:00pm

Private Event

Powerhouse duo Mac Barnett and Shawn Harris will be visiting schools with Once Upon A Time. If you would like a book signed, please order by Monday, May 9th. There will be very limited books available to purchase at the in-person school visits.

***AS OF 5/10, SCHOOL ONLINE ORDERS ARE CLOSED AND ARE NO LONGER ACCEPTED.***  A limited number of books may be purchased at the school with cash.

Order from the event tonight (5/11)

Order a Signed Book

About The First Cat in Space Ate Pizza: New York Times bestselling Mac Barnett and Caldecott Honor award-winning illustrator Shawn Harris turn their massively popular The First Cat in Space Ate Pizza live cartoon into an action-packed and hysterical graphic novel series--perfect for fans of Dav Pilkey, Raina Telgemeier, and Jeff Kinney. 

Something terrible is happening in the skies! Rats are eating the MOON!

There's only ONE hero for the job, a bold and fearsome beast bioengineered in a secret lab to be the moon's savior and Earth's last hope! And that hero is . . . a cat. A cat who will be blasted into space!

Accompanied by the imperious Moon Queen and LOZ 4000, a toenail clipping robot, the First Cat in Space journeys across a fantastic lunar landscape in a quest to save the world. Will these unlikely heroes save the moon in time? Can a toenail-clipping robot find its purpose in the vast universe? And will the First Cat in Space ever eat some pizza?

Mac Barnett author photo by Sonya Sones

About the author: Mac Barnett is a New York Times bestselling author whose books have been translated into more than thirty languages. His picture books include two Caldecott Honor-winning collaborations with Jon Klassen: Sam & Dave Dig a Hole and Extra Yarn. Among his other popular books are I Love You Like a Pig, illustrated by Greg Pizzoli, and The Magic Word, illustrated by Elise Parsley. He lives in Oakland, California. You can visit him online at www.macbarnett.com.

Shawn Harris author photo by Lauren Harris

About the illustrator: Shawn Harris's first illustrated book, Her Right Foot by Dave Eggers, received seven starred reviews, was an Orbis Pictus Award Honor Book, an ALA Notable, and a PW Best Book of the Year. His other picture books include Eggers's What Can a Citizen Do, which was a Time Magazine Best Children's Book, Everyone's Awake by Colin Meloy, A Polar Bear in the Snow by Mac Barnett, and his own author-illustrated works Have You Ever Seen a Flower? and Doing Business. Harris also occasionally moonlights as singer/songwriter of the popular Oakland, California, band The Matches, whose early 2000s album art sparked his illustration career.

***AS OF 5/10, SCHOOL ONLINE ORDERS ARE CLOSED AND ARE NO LONGER ACCEPTED.***  A limited number of books may be purchased at the school with cash.

Order from the event tonight (5/11)

Event address: 
Private Event
School Visit

Want to stay updated about our latest events?

Find all the exciting events at America's Oldest Children's Bookstore!

Email Newsletter Sign Up