As America's Oldest Children's Bookstore, we are proud to support our local schools, teachers, and librarians by providing FREE events featuring authors and illustrators to encourage reading, inspire writing, and coordinate fun!
School events with authors are private events, but interested readers can order a signed and personalized book through Once Upon A Time. Please place your order at least 24 hours in advance of the event, unless otherwise noted. 
If you would like your school to be considered for author or illustrator visits, please fill out the Google form here or the PDF here or contact Maureen at Events@onceupona.com
Want to be notified of exclusive educator events, sales, and more? Sign up for our educator newsletter here

School Visit with Tom Watson

Event date: 
Thursday, September 26, 2019 - 8:00am
Event address: 

Private Off-Site Event

Author Tom Watson will be visiting schools with Once Upon A Time Bookstore. If you would like a book signed and personalized, please order at least 24 hours in advance.  

Order Now

About the Book: Perfect for fans of Big Nate, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, and the Stick Dog books, Tom Watson's hilarious series continues with Stick Cat: Two Cats to the Rescue--a backyard adventure involving a curious baby, two daring cats, and a pack of hungry pups!

Millie needs Stick Cat's help.

When little Millie wanders off, Stick Cat needs to get her back. It's a rescue mission with too many obstacles to count. There's a runaway butterfly, a pole-vaulting adventure, and a growling beast in the woods. Yikes. 

And, of course, there's Edith. Oh, Edith. 

Will Stick Cat be able to navigate around her wacky plans, fragile ego and peculiar ways? Just when he's doubting his chances, five familiar dogs burst onto the scene to help this rescue mission succeed.

 

About the Author: Tom Watson lives in Chicago with his wife, daughter, and son. He also has a dog, as you could probably guess. The dog is a Labrador-Newfoundland mix. Tom says he looks like a Labrador with a bad perm. He wanted to name the dog "Put Your Shirt On" (please don't ask why), but he was outvoted by his family. The dog's name is Shadow. Early in his career Tom worked in politics, including a stint as the chief speechwriter for the governor of Ohio. This experience helped him develop the unique, storytelling narrative style of the Stick Dog books. More important, Tom's time in politics made him realize a very important thing: Kids are way smarter than adults. And it's a lot more fun and rewarding to write stories for them than to write speeches for grown-ups.

Stick Cat: Two Cats to the Rescue Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062741202
Availability: Coming from our Warehouse. Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - September 24th, 2019

Stick Cat: A Tail of Two Kitties Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062411006
Availability: Coming from our Warehouse. Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - May 3rd, 2016

Stick Cat: Cats in the City Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062411020
Availability: Coming from our Warehouse. Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - April 25th, 2017

Stick Cat: Two Catch a Thief Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062411044
Availability: Coming from our Warehouse. Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - October 3rd, 2017

Stick Cat: Two Cats and a Baby Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062741189
Availability: Coming from our Warehouse. Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - September 25th, 2018

Stick Dog Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062110787
Availability: Coming from our Warehouse. Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - January 8th, 2013

Stick Dog Wants a Hot Dog Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062110800
Availability: Coming from our Warehouse. Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - October 8th, 2013

Stick Dog Chases a Pizza Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062278050
Availability: Backordered
Published: HarperCollins - July 8th, 2014

Stick Dog Dreams of Ice Cream Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062278074
Availability: Coming from our Warehouse. Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - May 19th, 2015

Stick Dog Tries to Take the Donuts Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062343208
Availability: Coming from our Warehouse. Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - January 5th, 2016

Stick Dog Slurps Spaghetti Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062343222
Availability: Coming from our Warehouse. Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - October 4th, 2016

Stick Dog Craves Candy Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062410948
Availability: Coming from our Warehouse. Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - July 25th, 2017

Stick Dog Crashes a Party Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062410962
Availability: Coming from our Warehouse. Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - March 6th, 2018

Stick Dog Gets the Tacos Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062685186
Availability: Coming from our Warehouse. Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - February 5th, 2019

Event Category: 

Want to stay updated about our latest events?

Find all the exciting events at America's Oldest Children's Bookstore!

Email Newsletter Sign Up


 

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

Good for ages 10 to 13 and for anyone who enjoys tom boy or Roller girl with people who like middle school placed comic books with great drama and adventure through life. - Thomas, customer age 11