Trouble with Penguins Book Launch with Rebecca Jordan-Glum

Event date: 
Saturday, November 7, 2020 - 1:00pm
Event address: 

A delightful new friendship story!

The Trouble with Penguins book cover

Debut author/illustrator Rebecca Jordan-Glum is excited to introduce her picture book The Trouble with Penguins! A fun book for readers ages 3+ that makes a delightful winter-time read-aloud. Join Rebecca for a Zoom book launch event and if you pre-order your signed copy from America's Oldest Children's Bookstore you will get a festive swag pack including:

The Trouble with Penguins title page showing a custom signed book plate by Rebecca Jordan-Glum. In front of the title page is the pop-up penguin bookmark, a sticker, and a collectable pin.

1. A custom signed book plate

2. A penguin pop-up bookmark

3. A collectible friendship pin

4. A Trouble with Penguins sticker

Order The Trouble with Penguins

Register for Zoom Book Launch

About The Trouble with Penguins: On the day the penguin discovered the person, everything changed.

The person was happy to see the penguin, and showed it how to roast marshmallows by the fire. When it was time for the penguin to go, she gave it her favorite roasting stick and a warm hug goodbye.
Once the penguin showed its penguin friends how to roast marshmallows, they all wanted a turn. It was wonderful...until it wasn't.
You see, the trouble with penguins is that they don't always know how to say they're sorry. But, with a little help and teamwork, they discover sharing is always the best tactic.
For fans of Oliver Jeffers, Jon Klassen, and Jory John comes a clever, irreverent debut picture book about an unlikely friendship between a penguin and a human that emphasizes the importance of sharing, patience, and, above all, friendship.

Rebecca Jordan-Glum author photo provided by author

About the author/illustrator: Rebecca Jordan-Glum is a Los Angeles based author-illustrator, artist, and designer. Her debut picture book, The Trouble with Penguins, is a hard-fought dream many years in the making and just one of many completely unrealistic goals she is working towards.

Saturday, November 7 at 1:00 PM Pacific Time 

Register in advance for the event:
https://zoom.us/meeting/register/tJUkdOuprjIpHNH2BByrjso5AttTUFGYEiEo 

$18.99
SKU: 9781250208484a
Add name. Ex: Jane or Humphrey Family

A roasted marshmallow opens this delightful new friendship story. Atmospheric illustrations beautifully compliment this warm-hearted story of community and sharing. Perfect for fans of marshmallows, penguins, and of course best friends!

— From Staff Picks by Jessica


Want to stay updated about our latest events?

Find all the exciting events at America's Oldest Children's Bookstore!

Email Newsletter Sign Up


 

Harry Potter Audiobooks through Libro.fm

Staff Picks

I enjoyed the book although it's not one I would have selected on my own.  Especially for a debut novel I thought it was well done and engaging. I can't attest to the historical accuracy of the book's premise (yes, I know it's historical fiction). Over-all I would recommend it to anyone looking for an easy, entertaining read for beachside (when beaches reopen) or for a weekend of relaxation even if it's in your own backyard. There were moments where I thought the perspectives of the protagonist - Anita (The Woman in Red) - stemmed from our 21st century experiences as opposed to how the setting might have been perceived in the time period of the book, but this wasn't so distracting that it ruined the novel. On an entirely positive note, I would say that one place where most novels fail for me is the ending - too many novels are either entirely predictable or feel rushed and hurried as if trying to tie up all the loose ends. I was not expecting the outcome at the end of The Woman in Red

Overall I would give this book 4 out of 5 stars . It was a respectable first novel from Diana Giovinazzo, with an engaging story line that was enjoyably uncomplicated yet intriguing, a likeable protagonist, and a surprise ending.

- reviewed by Diane, customer