Weird Kid One California Event with Greg van Eekhout - via Zoom

Event date: 
Friday, August 6, 2021 - 5:00pm
Event address: 

Finding your place is hard, especially if you're not from this world......

Weird Kid book cover

A ONE CALIFORNIA event in partnership with Mysterious Galaxy in San Diego, Rakestraw Books in Danville, and Once Upon A Time in Montrose

Try not to shape shift as you laugh and read Weird Kid, the newest book by Greg van Eekhout. For this special event, all of California is invited to join in to welcome the weird kid in all of us through the three participating independent bookstores. 

Order a signed book and register for the virtual event below.

You could put WEIRD KID in the hands of almost any young reader and soon you’d hear the soft chuckles of delight in seeing a fully-formed kid (12-year old Jake) with a bit of a shape-shifting problem trying to navigate middle school while not growing extra thumbs or feathers in front of his unsuspecting classmates. Unexplained sinkholes, butt jokes, blob-shifting goo and maybe-nefarious government agents ratchet up the action & humor. One of the many strengths of this book is the strong, non-romantic, bond between the comic-book loving duo of protagonist Jake and his friend, Agnes, who both relate to crime solving/investigative superheroes Night Kite and Star Hammer. There is so much to love packed in this book – family, music, guitars, comics, & of course, van Eekhout’s signature canine companion. 

-Reviewed by Maureen

Once Upon a Time expects all participants to maintain an atmosphere of respect and fairness. Any comments, questions or participants that violate this standard of behavior including any form of harassment, may, at the discretion of the organizers, be immediately removed.

Order Weird Kid book

Register for the Zoom Book Launch

About Weird Kid

From the author of Once Upon a Time's middle grade favorites, Cog and Voyage of the DogsWeird Kid is a hilarious and heartfelt homage to everyone who feels like they don't belong. Perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and Stuart Gibbs. 

Jake Wind is trying to stay under the radar. Whose radar? Anyone who might be too interested in the fact that he has shapeshifting abilities he can't control. Or that his parents found him as a ball of goo when he was a baby.

Keeping his powers in check is crucial, though, if he wants to live a normal life and go to middle school instead of being homeschooled (and if he wants to avoid being kidnapped and experimented on, of course). 

Things feel like they're going his way when he survives his first day of school without transforming and makes a new friend. But when mysterious sinkholes start popping up around town--sinkholes filled with the same extraterrestrial substance as Jake--and his neighbors, classmates, and even his family start acting a little, well, weird, Jake will have to learn to use his powers in order to save his town.

 

Greg Van Eekhout author photo provided by publisher

About the author: Greg van Eekhout lives in San Diego, California, with his astronomy/physics professor wife and two dogs. He's worked as an educational software developer, ice-cream scooper, part-time college instructor, and telemarketer. Being a writer is the only job he's ever actually liked. You can find more about Greg at his website: www.writingandsnacks.com.

 

Friday, August 6th at 5:00 PM Pacific Time / 8:00 PM Eastern Time

Register in advance for the event:
https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_JJuLcpw9S-yKewOdhUYZYw 

Pre-Order Now Badge
Weird Kid Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062970602
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: HarperCollins - July 27th, 2021

*Signed book plate*


Cog Cover Image
By Greg van Eekhout, Beatrice Blue (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062686039
Availability: Recently On Our Shelves
Published: HarperCollins - December 8th, 2020

Voyage of the Dogs Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062686015
Availability: Recently On Our Shelves
Published: HarperCollins - May 7th, 2019

Image: 

Support Once Upon A Time Events

If you are getting the book signed at Once Upon A Time, please purchase it from Once Upon A Time. 

Our events are free, and we welcome anyone and everyone to enjoy our family friendly atmosphere. We are, however, a small independent bookstore, and we rely on event revenues to continue hosting them. So, if you're going to get a book signed, please purchase that book here. This way, we can keep the happy memories coming at America's Oldest Children's Bookstrore. 

With love,

Your family bookstore